I Just Quit My Day Job Because Blogging Built Me 2 Homes

Winnie Jones
5 min readJan 18, 2022

--

Photo by Domenico Loia on Unsplash

Starting a blog can seem intimidating, and it’s hard to know where to start when it comes to making money from your blog.

A lot of people give up on their blogging dreams because they don’t know where to start.

They get stuck at the very beginning and never make it past that first hurdle.

I’ve been blogging for close to 3 years, and it wasn’t until a few months ago that I started making a living out of it.

I’m an accountant by profession and I just quit my job to do full-time blogging.

I started my blogging journey in 2019 without any prior experience apart from online research on sites like blackhatworld and Quora.

I wrote 21 terrible articles in my first year and obviously made 0$, blogging for me then was something I did out of interest.

In the 2nd year, I worked on my SEO and added 17 articles that were more optimized for google and started getting a bit of traffic.

I managed to get my DA to 8 by the close of December 2020 but yet didn’t make any coin.

My journey as well, a journey of 1000 mistakes.

I had registered for google Adsense but gave no attention when giving my home address because who sends letters anyway.

Turned out for google to authorize your AdSense account they send physical postal mail and you can’t change the address once registered.

I had made $35 which I was very proud of and kept refreshing in the office against the office strict “company policy”

To my disappointment, I later realized that I would never get that money due to my initial ignorance.

So, I decided that if I’m not getting paid for my traffic then I was going to work on my affiliate marketing.

I started writing “How to articles” and again made the mistake of shoving it down readers’ throats.

I then learned that the entire reason for having a blog is to provide your readers with value and educational materials to read.

If you keep the phrases value and trust in mind when writing blog posts, your posts will be much better, your readership will grow much faster, and your people will be more loyal.

In June 2021 my fortune changed, my mentor @Noah introduced me to Jasper, an A.I writing assistant.

Using Jasper changed my life.

My posts became better, faster and my readership grew two-folds.

Jasper kept writing for me when I was sleeping, eating, or just too busy with life.

In August, my traffic had increased and my blog was accepted to Mediavine which to me seemed like winning the lottery.

Mediavine Todate

As a result of the traffic, my 4 affiliates started generating me a decent amount of money.

In the course of my career, I had managed to buy 2 pieces of land but I really needed to build a home without having to rely on lenders.

My first payday in August started just that, I finished a decent home by middle-class standards in Kenya in October then immediately started working on the second one.

Related: From Zero to $7,000/month using Medium and AI

Today am a proud owner of two homes, one of which I live with my 3 kids and the other is on offer at Airbnb.

MY total income from the blog and affiliates is in excess of USD 4500 monthly which in my country is a C.E.O’s salary.

In the grand scheme of things am nowhere near rich but investing all my energy in my 2 blogs will get me there.

I have purposed to write 5 blog posts daily with Jarvis for this year and I will share the results quarterly on medium.

Currently, my blog has 208 posts with an average of 3000 reads a per day.

My DA is 21 which means that my blog is still considered quite a beginner but i wish to push it to 50 by the close of the year.

So, what has been holding you back from making money from your blog?

Blogging should be fun.

I wouldn’t look at this as a job and a mundane task.

If you do that, you’re going to have a hard time blogging.

Have some fun with it, I promise you it’s not that hard to make money blogging if you have great content.

If you are just starting out, I recommend that you write on things that you are interested in then find out what your audience wants to hear about.

That’s how I started off with my blog too, some of the posts were really terrible but Jasper made them better.

Update: Jasper has added a new and dynamic template called the Paragraph generator.

Its a simpler way to create better content FASTER with Jasper Jasper

Paragraph Generator automatically generates amazing paragraphs for you. The best part? Out of all the templates, the Paragraph Generator template produces the MOST logical, useful or original content.

--

--

Winnie Jones

Top Writer. Writing about Artificial Intelligence and how it can be used in copywriting, art, design, and game development!